45th ARC National Beef Performers Awards winners announced


Estimated reading time: 6 minutes

The Agricultural Research Council (ARC) once again presented its National Beef Performers Awards on 23 November 2023. This was the 45th instalment of the awards, the aim of which is to showcase the best of the best in seven categories, all relating to beef cattle performance and beef cattle producers. Each of the seven categories is sponsored by various agricultural companies and role-players and serve to honour those who have excelled in their breeding and production practices, as well as the mentoring of fellow producers.

The Department of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (DALRRD), who has been a key stakeholder in these awards since its inception, once again played a key role in the process. Like last year, Plaas Media was once more the main sponsor of the awards.

The seven categories with their respective winners and finalists were announced during a virtual awards ceremony broadcast from 18:00 onwards on 23 November. The finalists and winners are:

ARC National Best Elite Cow Awards

Sponsored by Farmer’s Weekly, with 19 cows receiving top honours:

BreedCow IDOwnerTown
AfrisimJVR 11 0076Hentie Jansen van RensburgNoordbrug, North West
BonsmaraJHK 14 0139Frieda Trust BonsmaraKroonstad, Free State
BoranTZ 13 0158Theo van ZylLadybrand, Free State
BrafordM 13 0095Jan MeakerWarden, Free State
BraunviehHB 13 0025Daleen BesterVrede, Free State
CharolaisEL 13 0019Danie SteenkampKlerksdorp, North West
DexterJL 12 0017Willie du PlessisRiversdal, Western Cape
LimousinDK 05 0108John and Tracey DevonportBalfour, Mpumalanga
NguniEX 13 0001Hannes EksteenPiketberg, Western Cape
PinzgauerM 11 0002Fanie Potgieter (Bertie van Zyl Edms Bpk (ZZ2)Modjadjiskloof, Limpopo
PinZ2ylPZ 13 0253Fanie Potgieter (Bertie van Zyl Edms Bpk (ZZ2)Modjadjiskloof, Limpopo
RomagnolaDT 10 0120Dail van RensburgDelareyville, North West
SA Angus (Red)KCM 11 0041Kevin & Carl MilesDordrecht, Eastern Cape
Santa GertrudisVV 13 0138Tina de JagerVryburg, North West
SimbraARC 11 522CKarl-Heinz & Sigi HeimstadtGobabis, Namibia
SimmentalerBBS 14 0013Calla and Jaco BothaRawsonville, Western Cape
South DevonJM 13 1679John MillerCathcart, Eastern Cape
SussexSWM 11 0001Shaun TrollipBritstown, Northern Cape
TuliE 13 0009Dave MullinsGrahamstown, Eastern Cape
  • Afrisim cow

ARC National Platinum Bull Awards

The seven bulls awarded the title this year, in this category sponsored by GMP Basic/Leader Products SA, are:

BreedBull IDOwnerTown
BonsmaraAJF 21 0564Nelius FerreiraHarrismith, Free State
BonsmaraNFS 21 0322Nick SerfonteinEdenville, Free State
BonsmaraNFS 22 0205Nick SerfonteinEdenville, Free State
BonsmaraNFS 22 0247Nick SerfonteinEdenville, Free State
LimousinYF 21 0901Johan FourieModimolle, Limpopo
NguniEX 21 0216Doppies NelAugrabies, Northern Cape
SussexCC 21 0083CB CilliéBloemfontein, Free State
  • Bonsmara bull

ARC National KyD Province of the Year Award

This category, proudly sponsored by RCL Foods’ Molatek, saw the following provinces take silver, gold, and platinum. KwaZulu-Natal reigned supreme this year:

  • Silver – Northern Cape.
  • Gold – Mpumalanga.
  • Platinum – KwaZulu-Natal.

ARC National Kaonafatso ya Dikgomo of the Year Award

Sponsored for the second time by Stockfarm (Plaas Media) the Kaonafatso ya Dikgomo of the Year Award goes to Rudzani Sadiki of Sadiki Farm (Pty), who farms with Bonsmara cattle in the Thabazimbi are in Limpopo. Seven other producers were also contenders in this category. They were Maria Kantwan, Phakade Khanyile, James Luvuno, Bumbi Mahlangu, Waetsho Makgale, Lubabalo Ngcwembe and Puseletso Tsoeu.

KyD of the year winner - Rudzani

ARC National Mentor of the Year Award

Sponsored by Molatek for several years now, the mentor of the year award saw two exceptional leaders sharing the title in 2023. They are:

  • Naudé Pienaar of Zondagspan Santas in the North West. Naudé is currently the general manager for Agri North West and has been a member for over 11 years. He is lauded for his mentorship and transferring management skills to fellow farmers.
  • Piet Mothepu of Kirkdale Farm in the Free State, farms with his wife Maria. They produce grain and cattle and Piet has been mentoring fellow farmers in honour of those who mentored him. He especially teaches practical aspects such as dehorning, low stress handling, etc.

ARC National Special Performance Test Class Awards

Sponsored for the second time by Stockfarm (Plaas Media), this award saw a total of 14 bulls receiving accolades in this category in 2023:

BreedBull IDOwnerTown
BeefmasterV 21 0022Allen VersveldVolksrust, Mpumalanga
BoranGB 21 0015Gideon BothaLuckhoff, Free State
BrafordGM 21 0010Gert van der Merwe & Johan de JagerBethal, Mpumalanga
BrahmanS69 21 0053Carel ChalmersMokopane, Limpopo
BrangusV5 21 0098Ferdie NaudéWelkom, Free State
BraunviehDEK 21 0053Erik de KlerkBoshof, West Free State
CharolaisGE 21 0008Ruan ErasmusStella, North West
HerefordDVB 22 0041Danie van BredaHermon, Western Cape
LimousinYF 21 0901Johan FourieModimolle, Limpopo
NguniEX 21 0220Hannes EksteenPiketberg, Western Cape
RomagnolaAB 21 0015Ferdi van NiekerkParys, Free State
Santa GertrudisGB 21 0004Gert BritsDelareyville, North West
SimbraHLM 20 065BLourens MullerLindley, Free State
SussexCC 21 0083CB CilliéBloemfontein, Free State
  • Beefmaster bull - ARC Beef Performers Awards

ARC National Beef Cattle Improvement Herd of the Year Award

The winner in this Stockfarm (Plaas Media) sponsored category, is Derek Ralfe of the well-known and much lauded UP George Bonsmaras in KwaZulu-Natal. Derek and wife Tutu has been farming with Bonsmara for 30 years and have become synonymous with exceptional cattle. Here is the full list of finalists:

BreedHerd nameOwnerTown
TuliBushmans Mountain Tuli StudChristo RothmannVenterstad, Eastern Cape
NguniExsteen Nguni’s and SangasHannes EksteenPiketberg, Western Cape
Santa GertrudisSantapine (Pinekloof Trust)Howard HobsonLadybrand, East Free State
Santa GertrudisSantarustGert Brits (JH Havemann)Delareyville, North West
SimmentalerTierkloof SimmentalersCorné de JagerReitz, Free State
BonsmaraUP George BonsmarasDerek RalfeLadysmith, KwaZulu-Natal

To watch the awards and relive all the action, click on the following link:

Also read the December 2023 issue of Stockfarm, which contains a full supplement of all the finalists and winners.

For enquiries regarding finalists, contact Dr Ben Greyling at ben@arc.agric.za or 079 874 6875. To purchase a copy of Stockfarm, contact Beauty Mthombeni at beauty@plaasmedia.co.za or 064 890 6941.